• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

how "eco" is ecosolvent ink?

jmdw

We have very little airflow in the space our owner wants to install a
Roland XJ 740. Does anyone have any suggestions on needed
ventilation?

Just cause it doesn't smell bad doesn't mean it's good for you

jmdw

James605

We have no ventilation and it doesnt bother us. Every once in a while you get a wiff of it, but i dont think you can tell

petepaz

we run 2 roland versa camms with the ecosol ink
everyday and we aaa i um i think eevaryaneiiiiis ok
:iamwithstupid
had them almost 3 years and other than hair fall out no health problems here
and i have been working around silk screen inks for about 19 years so the ecosol ink is like drinking water

RVSG-THOM

Eco-solvent, which if i was told right by the gentleman who set up our Mutoh 1604, means economy, not ecological.

Tim Aucoin

No problems with ecosol fumes/smell here (running the 540V). Then again, my sniffer is probably damaged beyond repair from sniffing printers ink, wash-up solvent and isopropyl alcohol for over 20 years! :rolleyes:

Tim Aucoin

Eco-solvent, which if i was told right by the gentleman who set up our Mutoh 1604, means economy, not ecological.

Pssst... yeah, but don't my customers that, okay... they think I run a "green" shop when I tell them I use EcoSolvent inks... :ROFLMAO:

Gino

Premium Subscriber
I'm not sure of the details, but the same crap that's in the true solvent is in the mild solvent or eco-solvent inks, but just not as much and the odors are covered up somewhat.

Not being able to smell something doesn't take the evil out of it. Otherwise, I would imagine they would say it's 100% safe to use in UNventilated areas. I've never seen that statement, so one could only assume they are safe.