• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

New to me permitting issue - foot-candles

Scotchbrite

No comment
Gotta start with the street cred info first; I've been permitting signs for over 20 years now. Today I had a request I've never been asked to provide before:
Please provide information that shows that sign lighting will not create more than one-tenth (0.1) foot-candle impact on habitable residential uses in residentially zoned areas south of property.
The sign in question is in a strip mall that requires individual lit letter signs, and this is the 3rd sign I've permitted for this specific unit.

Aside from being extremely disgruntled about the request just on the face of it, I'm completely at a loss for how I would even begin to legitimately prove a sign will not create more than 0.1 foot-candle at some distant location! I tried doing some Google searching but didn't have any luck finding something that even hinted at a method to do this. The only thing I can find is a meter for measuring the light output once a sign has been installed.

I'm curious if anyone here as dealt with this issue?

BigNate

simple conversion and math - look up the foot candle rating at a specific distance from the source, calculate the distance to the "some distant location" and then realize that the light density on an imaginary sphere leaving the light source drops off as a function of the cube of the distance from the source... or put a light meter the known distance from the spec'd light source and actually measure the difference between readings with the light on and off (I assume there is some background light as you probable are not making a darkroom just to test....)

BigNate