• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Somebody please set me straight!

Dronex

Hello guys- I'm a beginning self taught sign painter and consistently have a difficult time trying to find information regarding the trade. It seems like everywhere I look, information is outdated, irrelevant, or non-existent. It's been one step at a time for me, bumping into every obstacle in the room to find a straight path, and I'm probably still screwing up.. So my question is: assuming you're using one shot and/or ronan lettering enamels on an MDO panel, what is the best way to prepare the panel for the longevity of the lettering and the sign in general? I have been using zinsser oil and water based primers with a background coat of whatever kind of hardware store bucket enamel (behr, valspar, rusto)- I've read statements here and elsewhere that this is a no-no but no one ever follows through with what is right, only with comments like "spend the extra time/money" which I am more than willing to do.. Should I paint the whole background with lettering enamel? Bulletin enamel? Acrylic enamel?.. I've just completed a two sided hanging outdoor sign finished in the aforementioned fashion and now I'm worried that the one shot is gonna jump ship after a couple seasons in the weather. On top of that I've been catching the drift that one shot is an untrustworthy product on its own, and experiencing this first hand has caused me to abandon some colors for ronan already.. With more work on the way I need to get a reliable system down before the angry townsfolk gather outside my shop- so what say you mineral spiritualists? Thanks for your help! -M

visual800