• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Starting a print business

bthcc

Hi,
I manage a Business Center in a convention center. We outsource our poster printing orders to a Print shop. We are researching the feasibility of printing the posters in house. The poster orders we receive are normally 48"x48", semi-gloss. I am hoping this forum can answer some of my questions as I have no knowledge or experience in this field.
What would the cost be to purchase the equipment needed to print posters (48"x48") at a quality equal to or better than a commercial print shop?
How big are these printers?
What type of consumable are needed?
What software is required?
How many staff are needed and what type of skillset or experience are required to operate a successful poster printing operation?
I'd appreciate it if you can answer these questions and any advice that I should be aware of.
Thanks!

Gino

Premium Subscriber
Aloha.

No offense, but you really don't belong here. Nobody here really wants to help you to stop using your local sign shops. That's cutting our own throats. I know 3 signs shops in Hawaii. All but one had to go out of business because of people doing what you're doing. The one was a very successful shop for years. I'm sure that's not your intent, but it is what you're doing, by taking food off their table(s).

If you can't negotiate better prices with your vendors, how do you expect to run a sideline business ?? Getting materials over there from the mainland can become expensive. Also getting the supplies to run your machines, too.

Good luck..............:toasting:

bthcc

Aloha.