• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Super Noob HANGING SIGN

Dbeeson07

Hi Everyone,

***PREWARNING*** I am super new to the sign world and know nothing other than what I read in this forum and find on google.

Background
My husband and I purchased a 64" Mutoh printer a year ago to print car wraps and number stickers for the dirt track cars we race every saturday. I am totally new to that field but have been slowly learning in my free time. I have made a few number stickers, lots of coroplast signs and tons of canvases (my favorite). I recently quit my full time job to be at home with our new baby who was born with a heart condition. My hopes is to get our business up and going and use the printer to its full capacity, I am still learning what all I can make with it. I have a customer asking if I can create a sign for his diner at the local gas station. He has an existing sign post he wants it hanging from, I have attached a photo for reference. The sign will roughly be 6'x4' double sided.

Question
I am planning on printing my sign and mount it to something to hang from the below sign post. I am trying to figure out the best material to mount the sign to and hang it. I have done some research and I am finding that Lusterboard and Alumalite are probably my best options. Please correct me if I am wrong.

What I have learned so far:
Lusterboard:

-Would be heavy enough to keep it swinging in the wind, we don't have much we live in Texas in the country.
-I have read that it may only last two years than begin to delaminate. I have found some caps for this Lusterboard from Glantz. Would this help it from delaminating?