• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

What should I be making? Graphics Dept Head

wiplash859

I have recently taken a job with a large union sign company (60+ people) in one of the largest cities on the East coast. I was hired to run 1 flatbed printer, 3 various wide format printers, and on occasion, 2 4ft plotters. The idea was that I would master those within a few months to become head of the graphics department. The department currently consists of 4 full time employees and the occasional rotating help. I am 26 years old and I have 6+ years experience in the sign industry. I graduated from college in '06 though my degrees were in an unrelated field (couldn't resist this industry). I have experience in nearly all aspects of the sign business and I am proficient in all popular design software.

MY QUESTION: Given my success at this company so far I believe that I will be offered the promotion, however, I am finding it hard to determine what I should be making. I am terrified that I will sell myself short, but at the same time I don't want my boss's head to explode when we start talking numbers. Obviously exact numbers will be impossible but what should I be making assuming I am offered the promotion? Is an hourly rate or a salary typical for this type of position? Any input you all can offer is greatly appreciated!

If it helps here's a list of my hardware/software knowledge:

lotters & Printers
Roland Soljet 740

HP Scitex FB 910 Fladbed printer

Cannon IPF 8000

Epson Pro 9000

Roland 48” plotter

Mimaki JV-33-160

Graphtec FC8000-130 54" Plotter

GBC Arctic Titan 54” Lamina
Signmaking & Graphics Software
Adobe Illustrator CS4

Adobe Photoshop CS4

Omega Composer

Microsoft Office 2008

AutoCAD

Roland Versaworks

RasterLink Pro II

Activity POS