• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Where can I buy an alignment scope?

signswi

Short question: we do a lot of our own maintenance on our JV3, including fine adjustments, and I'm tired of trying to see the lines with a loop. Does anyone know where I can buy the scope the techs use?

signswi

Was kind of looking for one with the measurements so you can see if you're within tolerance quickly but those are great suggestions. I'll hit Radio Shack and see if they still stock anything other than resold cell phone plans anymore. :banghead:

tbaker

I'm a service tech, it's what I do for a living, I prefer to use a loupe, but I can see how it can get tiresome.

One of the techs in my network has one of these, and I'm seriously considering getting it, it's easy to use, and gives great magnification.

http://www.hayneedle.com/optics/sport-optics/microscopes_celestron44302handhelddigitalmicroscope.cfm

on the other hand it's a bit more expensive then this, which is what I typically use ( daily)

http://www.amazon.com/Maxi-Aids-UltraOptix-Linen-Tester-Loupe-Magnifier/dp/B00076NVLM

Jim Hancock

Old School Technician
I'm the tech tbaker (Hey Trent!) mentioned as having the Celestron digital microscope. It works very well for me, especially as I use a netbook in the field. It makes doing the fine alignment on the Mimaki very easy. One of the useful features for me is its ability to take pictures and videos, which can be incredibly useful for evaluating problems where you want to send high power images or video to someone trying to help you solve those problems (such as on this forum).

tbaker

I'd fully endorse Jim's scope, it may have been his total gadget mastery, but he made it look very easy, and it did a great job.