• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Calendard vs cast Vinyl

rnjgraphics

I am a newbie who has used mid grade calendard vinyl on several projects and have had no problems. I am make some 6" x 12" aluminum signs that are going to be up for a long time, so I ordered Oracal 751 and I am finding it much more difficult to work with. Is this the case between the two types of vinyl? During weeding I keep getting the excess stuck to the letters, which I can't remove without ruining the letter. Then I finally got one weeded properly, and when I applied it the to the aluminum there are many air bubbles and some rough looking patches. Do I need to use a different application tape? I am using a medium tak. This is just white lettering on green aluminum. Would the calendard vinyl be a good choice too? Or should I just keep fighting with the Oracal 751. The roll of vinyl had some problems on the edges where the vinyl had come off the backing and was sticking together. Could the vinyl have not been stored properly to make it more difficult to work with??

I searched for a while on this and found a nice post about air bubbles working themselves out, or not... But I am curious to know if this vinyl is just more difficult to work with and if there are suggestions on how to get it to work better.

Thanks so much.

jean

jscarl

Welcome to S101. You might have better luck if you go ti the foyer and introduce yourself. Problem mostly sounds like a lot of lack of experience. Where did you get the vinyl?.

Jim Doggett