• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Declining jobs based on moral/ethical grounds

gnubler

As a business owner, what's your stance on accepting or declining jobs for personal reasons? A moral or ethical dilemma. As a basic example, getting a request to bid on a large signage project for an abortion clinic, which goes against your religion or personal beliefs. Or getting requests for political signage for a candidate you simply don't support.
Do you take the job, because a job is a job and it's profitable for your business, or do you pass, knowing another sign shop will have no problem with it and get the job.

I'm new in business and would like to hear your experiences and opinions.

James Burke

Being a grandpa is more fun than working
I had a similar experience when I first started 16 years ago.

The choice is totally up to you....you can choose to offer an explanation and give your reasons, or you can simply no-quote and move on.

I'm probably 10% cerebral. For me, it's more than "just a job" to do. I have no qualms about turning down such work, even if the money was needed. More times than not, something better usually comes along to make up for it.

JB

Pauly

Printrade.com.au
Work is work.
If you don't take it, someone else will.
Religious or personal beliefs are just that... beliefs...
How about all the greenpeace people getting signs printed on corrugated plastic? Ethically, cardboard and hand paint will suffice. Printing is not very eco friendly if you don't do your bit. And most print shops don't.

SignosaurusRex

You, and only YOU can decide what is moral or ethical when it comes to you and your business. If you need help with that, than you have bigger dilemmas to get a grip on.