• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

How long have you been in the Sign Business?

TheSnowman

We should make this a poll, it'd be easier. But 3 - 5 here. My business has been in business since 1981, but I bought it four years ago from my grandparents.

parrott

Our company celebrates it's 77th year next month. My grandfather started the company in 1932 as a sign painter and moved in to silk screening. I am the 3rd generation and have been around the shop my whole life, but I only count 3 of those years being really hands on.

SignManiac

This year I'm coming up on 36 years full time. I'm a self taught newbie and I'm S.O.H.K. (School of Hard Knocks) certified.

Arlo Kalon 2.0

30 long but satisfying years. IF I were elected King of the World however, I'd outlaw vinyl and decree a return to hand painted signs. I'd appoint Jill Duchess of Pennsylvania. I am looking forward to my exit from this work however and a life of debauchery/leisure.

Browner

It will be 10 years in November that I've been doing this for myself. Before that, I worked for another sign company for 3 years.

Gino

Premium Subscriber
A lo-o-o-ng time. Went to work at a sign shop in 1971-72, although I had been doing signs a little while in school and college.

Thanks for reminding me.................... :frustrated:

Jillbeans

Thanks Arlo!
And Parrot, that is very cool.

Me?
I have been in the biz 24 years, 99% self taught mostly by trial and error.
I did got to art school six months back in 80-81.
Started out by hand, got a computer in 98, started learning Corel in '05.
Still learn something new every day and love my job most of the time.
Even if I whine a lot.
Love....Jill

Craig Sjoquist

Started in July 1975
That fall went to St.Paul Voc. Tec. for signs ..been at it ever since,