• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Sign printer VS Canon 8300 printer ?s

EddieHollywood

Hi
I am new at this.
We have a Canon 8300 44 inch printer and the prints are amazing it is a 12 ink printer.

So far i have printed on 8 and 16 mil banner stock, Photo paper, Matt papers, Back light film and phototex all with outstanding looking full color prints.

Now my ?

The Canon inks are not rated for outdoor signs for any long time out side. On some things it says up to 6 to 8 months.

We have been getting requests for making some outdoor signs and i love designing things and can see this would be a good business for us. My wife would be a great outdoor sales person and she is ready to start selling wanting me to make up flayers for her to start taking around..

If we buy a laminator then the Canon prints should last for well over a year outdoors.

What is long enoff for outdoor banners everyone sells.?

Any down side to doing this VS a printer like a Mimaki, Roland or HP sign printer?

The Canon cost so much less then the other sign printer brands and the print quality is so much better then them all and the cost is much lower.
After a rebate we only paid $2200 for the Canon that included full ink tanks.

They also have a 60 inch version we could buy and they just come out with a S version of 8300 44 inch that is much faster 40% with 8 inks and should have the 60 inch S version out soon.

They use double print heads that from everything i have read are much better then Epson heads and you can change them out your self when needed.