• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Travel Fee for Sign Services?

RNJ3_ABS

Please forgive me if I'm doing this wrong. Complete newbie to this. I'm looking for an average amount & "any policies" that everyone charges for travel fee's to a customers location with a service vehicle or equipment. With the cost of fuel rising and everything else for that matter I'm at a loss for market pricing. As my business has grown I'm having to travel up to 3 hours away to do an install, application or service. I primarily run a pick up or van with the occasional trailer. Additionally looking to gauge for local travel too. My "local" travel is even up to an hour in the Tri-State area. Any feedback would be appreciated. Thx in advance!

RNJ3_ABS

We charge our hourly service rate for travel. If we can group jobs together in the same location, we'll split that cost up between the jobs.
Thank you for the feedback. I purpose to split costs when grouping same day/location services as well. With your hourly service rate, does it include a fee for the vehicle and equipment or just the service tech(s)? Any ballpark on the amount you charge? I'm in a competitive but wildly sparatic market so there doesn't seem to be a consistent price as most shops do something different. I'm seen from $25 to $150 pending vehicle type, service, # of tech's, etc.

netsol

Premium Subscriber
not long before the last election, i was still paying $1.87/gal.

ups, fedex and all my larger clients add fuel surcharges (in fact, ups will not let you log into worldship without downloading the daily fuel surcharges)