• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

where to start?

ck

As you can see this is my first post so i'll start by sayin hi to all!
I have been making signs for the past 16 yrs, started out with a few quills and some one shot. Being totally computor illiterate at the time I finally got the nerve to buy a computor and plotter. i was amazed at what a tool i had purchased...but I have been stuck there for about 13 yrs now and my business has become very stagnant.
I am wanting to get a digital printer but i have no clue as to where to start. I feel more lost than I did 13 yrs ago.
I live in a small town and didn't feel like a printer could be profitalbe around here. But now i feel it is time to make a move and get one or find another line of work. I just don't know where to begin.
I know this is a very broad question but if any one could help it would be appreciated.
I thought i would start at learning the software. I have never used anything but signlab, but was told by a supplier that flexi is better for dp.
I have never used adobe or even corel and there are so many versions i am stuck before i even began...HELP PLEASE
thanks in advance,
CK

hi from NC.... do you have many requests for digi prints? asking because if your getting afew here and there maybe sub them out for now. if your getting asked all the time and you know you can sell them all day long then yes, invest in a printer. you'll see on this forum alot of discussion on whats the best printer to buy, it depends on space, budget and what you want it do do. we have a gerber edfe fx and a roland vp540i...both different kettles of fish, but great at what they do.

SignManiac